Phenomenal Woman

MAYA ANGELOU…a woman who color the world with words,woman of essence,woman of many talents,a pillar,she is truly  an inspiration..

Everyday  i read this poem silently in my heart

So today i thought i should share this inspiring poem form an amazing poet  to the world 🙂

Many people wonder

where my secret lies

I’m not cute or built

to suit a fashion model’s size

But when i start to tell them

They think i’m telling lies

I say its in the reach of my arms

The span of my hips

The stride of my step

The curl of my lips

I’m a woman phenomenally

I walk into a room

Just as cool as you please

And to a man

The fellows stand or fall down

on their knees

Then they swarm around me

A hive of honey bees

I say it’s the fire in my eyes

And the flesh of my teeth

The swing in my waist

And the joy in my feet

I’m a woman phenomenally

Men themselves have wondered

what they see in me

they try so much but they

can’t touch my inner mystery

when i try to show them

They say they still can’t see me

I say, its in the arch of my back

The sun of my smile

The ride of my breasts

The grace of my style

I’m a woman phenomenally

Now you understand

just why my head’s not bowed

I don’t shout or jump about

or have to talk real loud

When you see me passing

it ought to make you proud

I say

its in the click of my heels

The bend of my hair

The palms of my hand

The need of my care

cause i’m a woman phenomenally

Phenomenal woman

Thats me

BY: MAYA ANGELOU

9 thoughts on “Phenomenal Woman

  1. anna mosca says:

    Lovely! Hi, thank you for the follow! My blog is bilingual, so be patient when I’ll get notices about some Italian poems… I’m trying to keep the posts balanced.

Leave a Reply

